Facebook Social Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon
Area hospitals join Medical Director program

Area hospitals join Medical Director program

Johnson County's Emergency Medical Services (EMS) System Medical Director Program will provide even better emergency care to residents through an agreement with area hospitals approved this morning by the Johnson County Board of County Commissioners.

It is rare in the EMS field to have the fire agencies, the paramedic transport provider, the 9-1-1 Emergency Communications Center and hospitals all working together. Having the hospitals' input in patients' care procedures before reaching the hospital will provide a seamless process for patients.

Kansas University Hospital, Menorah Medical Center, Olathe Medical Center, Overland Park Regional Medical Center, Saint Luke’s South Hospital, and Shawnee Mission Medical Center join MED-ACT, the Emergency Communications Center, and the nine fire agencies that currently serve on the advisory board and help contribute financially.

The hospitals will contribute $129,568 annually to the Medical Director program. Each hospital's contribution is based on the number of licensed hospital beds at the facility.

The EMS System Medical Director Program has two employees, Medical Director Dr. Ryan Jacobsen and Quality Assurance Manager Melody Morales, R.N. Dr. Jacobsen is a board certified Emergency Medicine physician who started his career as a paramedic in Johnson County. Both work full time to help guide and improve the EMS System in Johnson County.