Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Airport Commission

Phone: 913-715-6000

One New Century Parkway, New Century, KS 66031

You are here


The Johnson County Airport Commission operates two of the busiest airports in the state, a 1,000 acre industrial park with over 60 resident businesses and organizations with nearly 5,000 private sector employees, a six-mile rail system that moves over 1,000 cars a year, and a water system that distributes close to 200 million gallons annually. The third busiest airport in Kansas is New Century AirCenter in New Century, Kansas and the fourth is Executive Airport in Olathe, Kansas.

2019 JCAC Staff


Aaron Otto, Interim Executive Director

Aaron Otto serves as the Executive Director for the Johnson County Airport Commission. He is responsible for working with the leadership team to oversee, flight, railroad, water, and business park operations at two of the busiest airports in Kansas which are financially self-supported.

Aaron previously served as the Assistant to the County Manager where was responsible for governmental affairs activities for Johnson County, served as the project manager for numerous special projects and oversaw the County Manager’s Office.

Prior to joining Johnson County Government he became only the second City Administrator for Roeland Park, Kansas. As the City’s City Administrative Officer, he oversaw day-to-day operations and coordinated the supervision of all City departments working to provide high quality services and improve the quality of life in Roeland Park by making it a better place to work, live and raise a family.

Aaron is a member of the International City/County Management Association (ICMA), Kansas Association of City/County Management , Leadership Kansas Board of Directors , The International President of the Delta Chi International Fraternity, Pi Alpha Alpha Public Administration Society, the American Society for Public Administration, and on the advisory board for The George Washington University School of Public Policy and Administration. He is a past Rotarian and member of the Kansas Volunteer Commission, Governor’s Military Council, Kansas Humanities Council, the Kansas State Alumni Association Board of Directors, Kansas Leadership Center, Friends of Cedar Crest Foundation Board of Directors, and the Council of State Governments Toll Fellowship Program.

Aaron formerly served as the Assistant Kansas State Treasurer and Deputy Assistant State Treasurer for both Republican and Democratic state-wide elected officials. In the State Treasurer’s office he was responsible as chief operating officer for core functions of the office, including over $220M in unclaimed property, over $13B in bond services, over $2.9B in higher education savings, $19B in cash receipts, financial education, information technology, human resources and an office budget of $3.5M with more than 40 employees. He also managed all aspects of the Treasurer’s office including scheduling, policy development, legislative matters, and budgeting. During his time with the Treasurer’s Office he helped double the number of unclaimed property returns over a two year period and increased the amount of funds returned by over 50 percent.

Prior to serving in the Treasurer’s Office, Aaron was the Chief of Staff to two Lt. Governors and duly served as a member of two Governors' senior staff. His experience as a legislative liaison to the Governor had him handling policies dealing with the Kansas Highway Patrol, the Adjutant General’s Department Division of Emergency Management, the Department of Agriculture, the Governor’s Homeland Security Council, the Midwest Governors Association, Kansas Mentors, and the Kansas Board of Regents. Prior to returning to Kansas, Aaron served in the Pentagon and on sea rotations both in and outside the Navy and in the Office of the Secretary of Defense. During his time in Washington, D.C., he served as Special Assistant to the Assistant Secretary of Defense, on the staff of the Commander of the Atlantic Fleet, in the immediate office of the Secretary of the Navy, and as the Shipbuilding Section Head for the Chief of Naval Operations were he oversaw an annual budget formulation of over $15B.

He is a native of Manhattan, Kansas and has lived in Roeland Park since 2006. He attended the London School of Economics, earned a diploma from the Naval War College, a bachelor’s degree from Kansas State University and a Master of Public Administration from The George Washington University. Prior to completing his master’s degree, Aaron served as a policy analyst intern for the Department of the Interior / Bureau of Land Management, Survey and Analytic Team Lead at The George Washington University; Director of Constituent Services in a Kansas House of Representatives Leadership Office, a Tax Examiner & Fire and Casualty Intern with the Kansas Insurance Commissioner’s Office, and White House Intern.

Larry Peet-Deputy Director

Larry Peet has been Deputy Director for the Johnson County Airport Commission since August 25, 2014 and is responsible for all aviation and operations activities at both Johnson County airports. Larry graduated from St. Louis University's, Parks College, with a Bachelor of Science degree in Aeronautics, majoring in Aviation Management. He is a commercial, multi-engine instrument rated pilot with over 30 years of experience in the aviation industry. His operations experience spans from working as a flight deck director aboard the aircraft carrier, USS Nimitz, to Senior Airport Operations Supervisor at Lambert-St. Louis International Airport. Larry has also held various positions in the corporate environment including Business Development Manager, Senior Contract Administrator for Europe, Middle East, and Africa; and Senior Sales Engineer all with Cessna Aircraft Company in Wichita, KS. In 2012, he moved to Kansas City to serve as Director of Sales for Hangar 10 Aviation, after serving as Director of Operations for Port City Air in Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

Josh Schoehofer- Fin Mgr Josh Schoenhofer serves as the Finance Manager. He is responsible for overseeing the administrative and financial functions for the airport commission.
George Hopper- Ops Supervisor George Hopper serves as the Operations Supervisor. He is responsible for the day to day maintenance operation functions in the areas of Airfield and Rail.
Curtis Rogers- Ops Supr Curtis Rogers serves as the Operations Supervisor. He is responsible for the day to day maintenance operation functions in the areas of Fleet, Facilities & Grounds and Water Systems.
Joel Johnson- Sr. Accounting Analyst Joel Johnson serves as the Senior Accounting Analyst & Emergency Preparedness Coordinator. He is responsible for the day to day accounting operations, lease administration and emergency preparedness functions. 
Chrissy Hails- Admin Chrissy Hails, serves as the Customer Service & Administrative Assistant. She is responsible for day to day office functions that includes billing, t-hangar coordination & waitlist and other administrative functions.