Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

You are here

Fast Facts

Founding: Johnson County was founded on Aug. 25, 1855, as one of the first 33 counties recognized by the Legislative Act of 1855 in the Territory of Kansas. Statehood was granted six years later as Kansas became the 34th state on Jan. 29, 1861. The state now has 105 counties.

Namesake: Named after the Rev. Thomas Johnson, a Methodist minister who established  the Shawnee Indian Mission in 1829. The mission, a National and Kansas Historic Site, is located in the city of  Fairway.

County Seat: Olathe.

Johnson County Government: Organized on Sept. 7, 1857.

20 Cities: Overland Park, Olathe, Shawnee, Leawood, Lenexa, Mission, Mission Hills, Mission Woods, Merriam, Lake Quivira, Fairway, Westwood, Westwood Hills, Prairie Village, Roeland Park, De Soto, Spring Hill, Gardner, Edgerton, and Bonner Springs.

Six Public School Districts: Shawnee Mission, Olathe, Blue Valley, Spring Hill, Gardner-Edgerton and De Soto. Student enrollment (K-12) totaled more than 96,304 for the 2016-2017 school year.

Seven Townships: Lexington, Olathe, McCamish, Spring Hill, Gardner, Oxford and Aubry.

Size: 477 square miles or approximately 303,000 acres.

Urban land: Approximately 59 percent of Johnson County has been incorporated into city limits.

Rural land: Approximately 41 percent of Johnson County remains unincorporated/rural areas.

Population: Johnson County is the most populous county in the state of Kansas.

  • 580,159 (2015 Census)

Miscellaneous Statistics:

  • Colleges: 4
  • Hospitals: 6
  • Community centers/multi-service centers: 10
  • Museums: 12
  • Airports including heliports:  23
  • Libraries: 16
  • Law enforcement stations: 20
  • Swimming pools, beaches, and aquatic centers: 50
  • Golf courses: 26
  • Fire stations: 44
  • Private schools: 53 buildings
  • Hotels: 73
  • Shopping centers: 289, including 69 strip malls
  • Miles of bicycle lanes: 188, including 133 miles of shared roadways
  • Historic sites: 123
  • Public schools: 190 buildings in six public school districts
  • Miles of biking, jogging, hiking trails: 395
  • Parks: 366 (city and county) with approximately 16,830 acres
  • Miles of county roads: 445 including about 124 miles of gravel roads.
  • Restaurants: 1,289
  • Miles of city streets: 3,286
  • Residential parcels: More than 181,854, including single-family, multi-family, condominiums,  townhouses, and farmsteads.