Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Records and Tax Administration
A Division of TTV

Phone: 913-715-0775

111 S. Cherry St., Suite 1200, Olathe, KS 66061

You are here


Johnson County has been electronically accepting documents for recording since October 2009.  eRecording allows document submitters to prepare and transmit document to RTA quickly and securely, and the recorded documents are returned immediately, rather than waiting for them in the mail.


The Kansas legislature established the Kansas Electronic Recording Commission (KERC) to adopt standards to implement the Uniform Real Property Electronic Recording Act (URPERA). Passed during the 2006 legislative session, the Kansas URPERA authorizes county Registers of Deeds to accept electronic documents for recording, provided that they do so in compliance with standards established by the KERC.

The KERC, in accordance with the provisions of its authorizing legislation, used the electronic recording standards issued by the Property Records Industry Association (PRIA) as the foundation for Kansas standards, expanding upon or clarifying the PRIA standards when necessary. KERC standards address the following issues:

  • Data standards
  • Security (transactional and organizational)
  • Electronic signatures
  • Notary acknowledgment
  • File formats for electronic recording
  • Records retention and preservation
  • Payment of fees


All document submitters must have an agreement in place with Johnson County, as well as an agreement with one of our approved providers.  

Please complete the standard eRecordingMemorandum of Understanding (MOU) and return it to:

Johnson County RTA 
111 S Cherry St, Suite 1200 
Olathe, KS 66061


In order for a document submitter to transmit documents to Johnson County electronically, they must use a service provided by one of 4 approved vendors.  These vendors act as a secure courier service to and from Johnson County’s recording system.  Each provider has their own interface and fee schedule, and RTA suggests all interested submitters contact all 3 to determine which product will work best for their organization. 

Note: Johnson County does not charge any additional fees for eRecording.

  • CSC
    Corporation Service Company
    erecording support (866) 652-0111
  • Mobilis Technologies/iCounty
    Lisa Norris
    erecording support (816) 295-1540
  • Simplifile
    Lynn Wilkey 
    Regional Sales Director 
    (800) 460-5657  x1137
  • eRecording Partners Network
    Pam Trumbo
    888-325-3365 x11240

Document Types

Johnson County accepts most document types for electronic recording.  The entire list of eligible document types can be found here.


eRecording provides a method for identifying errors through software, as well as a quick turnaround time for errors to be fixed and the documents resubmitted.  Johnson County inspects each document to ensure it fulfills the recording requirements.  A list of common rejection reasons can be found here.