Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Park and Recreation

Jill Geller
Executive Director

The Johnson County Park & Recreation District was established by state statute in 1953 and is governed by a seven-member Board of Park and Recreation Commissioners appointed by the Johnson County Board of County Commissioners. It comprises more than 10,000 acres and attracts more than 7.5 million visitations annually. The district also provides more than 4,200 fee-supported recreational, cultural, environmental, and outdoor education programs each year that generate more than 2.7 million annual participations.

The district operates and maintains 16 developed park areas, including four streamway parks, and 87 miles of trails. It also manages a variety of facilities and programming sites throughout the county, including the Johnson County Arts & Heritage Center, Johnson County Museum, Meadowbrook Park Clubhouse, Ernie Miller Nature Center, Theatre in the Park, TimberRidge Adventure Center, Mill Creek Activity Center, the 22-acre Mildale Farm meeting and event site, three sports and recreation complexes, multiple programming sites for senior adults, one early childhood development center, two Natureplay Preschools, and two 18-hole golf courses.