A Recent Vehicle Purchase: Titling & Registration
Kansas law requires that a motor vehicle must be titled in the state and county where the vehicle is garaged. Motor vehicles cannot be legally operated without a title. Kansas law also requires a vehicle to be registered with display of a tag or plate along with the corresponding decals. Newly purchased vehicles must be registered within 60 days of the purchase of the vehicle.
Title and register your recently purchased vehicle without having to wait in line! Review the Title Drop Off Service Application completely and fill out the application sections. Gather all required documents as outlined in the application and put all original documents in an envelope addressed to Johnson County Motor Vehicle. Take your envelope with all the required documents and place it in one of our convenient and secure drop off boxes located outside of our Motor Vehicle Office front entrances:
- Mission Motor Vehicle: 6000 Lamar Avenue, Mission, KS 66202
- Olathe Motor Vehicle: 782 N Ridgeview Rd, Olathe, KS 66061
You can also mail envelopes to Johnson County Motor Vehicle at 111 S Cherry St, Suite 1500, Olathe, KS 66061.
If you have questions about this process, please e-mail [email protected] or call (913) 826-1800.
Vehicle Inspection Information
Kansas law requires the Kansas Highway Patrol to inspect vehicles that were previously titled in another state to verify the identification number or VIN number on the vehicle is genuine and agrees with the VIN on the out-of-state title. The inspection is required prior to the owner applying for an original Kansas title.
Vehicles that have been issued a Kansas non-highway title or Kansas salvage title, as well as vehicles that have been assembled or are homemade, are also required to be inspected. The inspection may require additional documentation regarding the history of the various parts used in the assembly and/or repair of the vehicle.
For more information, location times or additional inspection locations visit www.KansasHighwayPatrol.org.
The following items must be presented to complete the inspection:
- Vehicle, Title and/or supporting documents (salvage, owner retain salvage, assembled vehicles)
- Valid Driver’s License for person presenting vehicle for inspection
- Inspection Fee (Payable by cash (preferred), check, Visa or MasterCard) ◦$20 for regular MVE-1 inspection and $25 for salvage/prior or rebuilt salvage
Vehicle Inspection Locations and Phone Numbers:
- Kansas City Office - 913-334-9604
7330 I-70, Exit 415, Kansas City, KS 66112
- Lamar Office - 913-677-5276
3101 S. 24th Street, Kansas City, KS 66106
- Olathe Office - 913-780-6058
395 E. Dennis, Olathe, KS 66061
*CALL FOR INSPECTION HOURS*
Pay Title Drop Invoice
As a courtesy, your transaction will be processed within 14 days of receipt of your application. Once processed, your registration receipt and decal, itemized statement receipt, and invoice with payment instructions will be mailed to you. To pay an outstanding Title Drop invoice, please visit https://www.billerpayments.com/app/guestpayui/index.html?bsn=jcdmv#/guestpay/payment. Once you’ve clicked the link, please enter the account number and last six digits of the VIN, both of which are listed on the invoice that was mailed to you. Then select Continue to proceed. For questions, please contact [email protected].